If My Vote…

If my vote can save even one life, it is worth it. If my vote can be the tipping the scale vote, it is worth it.

I understand we have an electoral college, but the college cannot go against popular vote without an uproar, especially in this election. In the past, they may have gotten away with it, but not this time. Too many people are upset about how this whole thing is going.

Each state is run differently, which in some states (like Ohio), can be downright confusing! The ballots are not simply to vote for the candidate. You also have to vote for representatives who will actually vote for you. And they might not agree with you! So you have to do your homework about those reps very carefully. I forget what they are actually called, but people in those states know what I mean. Or maybe they don’t, which is a big part of the problem. I do not live in OH, but I have heard people on the radio from there talk about how confusing their ballot is, especially for first time voters.

But any way you look at it, I am going to vote. It is my right. It is my responsibility.

Right now, I don’t really like any of the candidates. We had much better ones in the beginning, but none of the “good” ones made it this far. So, what do I do? Do I not vote at all? NO! What I do is not vote for a “person”, but for the issues I hold closest to my heart.

This is why I wrote about the platforms. This is why I watched the debates. I am voting against the greater evil and for the one who is closest in stated beliefs to what I deem to be important.

The issues I deem important may not be the same ones you do. But whatever issues are important to you, check out the candidates stances (and do not forget to include how viable their possibility of winning really is). This is one election we cannot gamble on. Too much is at stake…namely…the Supreme Court. Those justices are going to determine whether to follow the Constitution or reinterpret it to their liking. That is important. The Supreme Court will be impacted for decades, which translates to generations. Our children. Our grandchildren. Our greatgrandchildren and so on. They will make decisions about the issues you hold dear!

So, do your research. Pray diligently. And VOTE! And pay attention to any faulty machines!

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Beit-Shalom, politics, Reflections, this world, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

We would love to hear your thoughts...

