Where Is My Responsibility?

I AM responsible for my attitudes and how I respond to people and situations.

I AM NOT responsible for what other people think or believe…whether it is about me, the world or anything else.

I AM responsible to seek out truth and to share that truth when appropriate.

I AM NOT responsible for getting other people to change their beliefs or thinking.

I AM responsible to pray for them.

I AM responsible for my walk with our Creator.

I AM NOT responsible for others’ walks with our Creator.

I AM responsible for encouraging others as best I can and lifting them up as best I can.

I AM NOT responsible for “fixing” others.

I AM responsible for helping people and treating them as I would want to be treated if I were in that situation.

I AM NOT responsible for paying the debt of my sin. Thankfully, that has been done by Yeshua on my behalf.

I AM responsible for walking in the ways of my Creator and not purposefully adding to my sins. My L-rd paid a high enough price. Why would I want to add anything to that?

I AM responsible for obeying, as best I can, the commands of Yeshua. Since He wrote the whole bible, that means it all applies! When Paul said to study the scriptures and that all scripture is profitable for instruction and correction, the only scriptures available were the OT Hebrew scriptures (albeit also translated into Greek).

I have been very blessed and I will keep on looking at what my role is as opposed to G-d’s role. Rabbi Baruch brought that up from this week’s Torah portion. See:  Parashat Shoftim!

I am also doing a lot of soul searching in preparation for the Fall High Holy Days…the moedim (appointed times) that point forward to Messiah’s coming. This is a time of year to reflect on where I have been spiritually and where I am going. What has been good and what not so good. What do I need to strengthen and what do I need to relinquish.

We are all on a spiritual journey. I am so glad you are on it with me. Please feel free to comment.

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Beit-Shalom, Feasts, God, growing, Lessons, Life, Musings, Parshah, Personal, Reflections, spiritual journey, Spirituality, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

We would love to hear your thoughts...

