Personal Notes on Nitzavim

Last week’s Torah portion was Nitzavim. During my reading and prayer time, this is what came to me. Just thought I would share.

10 September 2015 Notes on Nitzavim

Nitzavim is the Torah portion for this week. As I was reading and praying for insight, this is what came to me.

Nitzavim, D’varim (Deuteronomy) 29:13-14 — Your covenant is also for a people not there. This speaks to me of both people who were currently living, but not yet aware of the invitation (as in the nations of the world) and also of future generations. It says elsewhere in scripture that they were to be a light to the world and bring the knowledge of Hashem (G-d) to others. Hashem’s covenant was open to all.

15-20 speaks of the individual who, upon hearing of the consequences of breaking the covenant, thinks quietly to himself that he will receive the blessings anyway. He expresses in his heart that he will stubbornly keep doing whatever he wants and yet be added to the righteous.

Dry=sinful. Watered=righteous. I see us being watered by the Ruach (Spirit) of Hashem. Those who are dry in in spirit do not have His Ruach. The Ruach=Life=Water. Yeshua (Jesus) talks about rivers of living water from within. No Ruach=no Water=dry in spirit and soul.

Hashem takes this seriously for He lays all the consequences upon that person and blots out his name from under heaven. I sure would not want that! Would you?

But more importantly than what I don’t want is what I do want. Wherever my focus is – that is what will reign in my heart. If I focus on what I don’t want, my thoughts and desires will be filled with those things.

No! Instead I will focus on what I do want and will fill my heart and desires with those things.

I do want:

-to love the L-rd my G-d with all my heart, soul, mind and strength

-to love my neighbor, no matter what he or she is like or who he/she is, as myself

-to serve Hashem with all my heart as a faithful servant

-to be a loving and obedient daughter to Him

-to be a faithful bride preparing for her wedding day

-to be a good friend to Yeshua

-to treat others as I would want to be treated

-to smile at, bless and encourage others

-to listen to the Ruach and allow His words to touch my heart and flow from my mouth and fingers

-to see the hand of Hashem in every area of my life

-to make kingdom focused choices — HIS kingdom, not mine

-to consider my position as a spiritual princess something to be cherished and something to affect my behaviour while recognizing that, although unique in the eyes of Father the King, I am also only one among many (in other words, to be special, but not above others)

-to seek out opportunities for kingdom work, recognizing that even the smallest task done for the kingdom’s sake is just as significant and worthy as the largest task done by others

-to always remember that my life and my abilities are gifts from my Creator and for my Creator

-to always walk in gratitude for all things and giving thanks for all things, knowing my spiritual growth and mentoring is in the capable hands of my Creator who loves me immensely

-to live and walk in the knowledge and understanding that I am loved in a way that is so far above my comprehension as to be completely unknowable if not for the Ruach helping me to see and understand just an amazing taste of it. And, oh, what a taste!

Toda raba, Avinu Malkeinu, Avi Malki. Anee ohevet otxha im kol levi. Anee ratzah ohevet im kol ruachti.

21-27 give a warning of what will happen if the whole nation rebels. (It isn’t good.)

28 acknowledges that there are things hidden, known only to Hashem and belonging to Him. But the revealed things are ours and to be passed down to the children for all generations so that we can all observe the words of the Torah/teachings.

Ch 30 Hashem acknowledges they will turn from Him, but promises to bring them back from even the farthest place – when they return to Him. He promises to show mercy to the repentent.

10-14 are very important to me because Hashem makes it clear more than once that His teachings are doable – that we can do it – that it is not too hard for us! The G-d of Avraham, Yitzhak and Ya’akov (Abraham, Isaac and Jacob) does not lie. If He says we can do them, we can do them! And that was before Yeshua coming and before the Ruach event of Acts.

I truly believe that what holds us back from obedience is our hearts. It is not that His ways are impossible, but that we don’t want them! Our hearts run to other “gods”, instead of staying faithful. When I think of 5 year old children being beheaded for refusing to deny Yeshua and Hashem – really – is there anything we cannot do with the help of the Ruach if we are just willing to surrender 100% of ourselves to Him?

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Beit-Shalom and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

We would love to hear your thoughts...

