When the Past Comes into the Present

I just posted about some of the effects on me of living in the RV. As I sit here, thinking about being in it, I find myself starting to tense up inside. That is called Post Traumatic Stress. I recognize it because I have it from some other things, too.

When I was living in the RV, I just pushed through it. I have to say right now that the ONLY way I really got through it was by the grace of G-d. It was HIS strength, His Spirit, that got me through it.

So, here I sit now, four years later, and I find myself flashing back to those times. I don’t think of it often, but there were times when I was just battling to get through the day. Times when it felt as if the walls were closing in on me.

The whole RV, engine and all, was 24 1/2 feet long. From side to side it was 7 1/2 feet. Our common living area was 7 1/2 feet by 11 feet. Beyond that, there was a tiny closet at one end and an over cab bed where our son slept on the other end. In that 7 1/2 by 11 foot space was a couch/sleeper, table, chairs, cabinets, stove, sink. You get the idea.

If you really want to see what it was like, there are photos and stories at our previous blog. Little RV on the Hillside.  You are welcome to go read. It was quite the adventure. But like a lot of adventures, there was a difficult, darker side to it, too. I don’t really share the darker side on that blog, but I hope you will enjoy the funnier sides of it.

G-d brought some people our way who worked together to get Beit-Shalom to the point it is. We are very grateful for each and every one of them. What a huge blessing they were. When I look around the house, I think of them and I smile. I recognize different contributions made and it is a good feeling to know that so many people cared so much!

We are very blessed!

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Beit-Shalom. Bookmark the permalink.

We would love to hear your thoughts...

