The Ongoing Journey

Abba’s timing is always perfect, even when it does not feel so to us. Since my last post, I have been driven to my knees and gladly so. I am letting go of things and accepting that my first calling is to serve my family. We are all called to serve one another, but it starts with those closest to us…the ones with whom we live. And as important as serving those we work with or minister with is also important, it does not good if we are ignoring the ones with whom we live. Or the ones with whom we are most closely related, even if they do not live with us.

There are things to which I aspire, dreams I have, that I am letting go — for now. If they are meant to be, they will be. Abba will bring them to pass. Letting them go helps with not being overwhelmed.

There are things I want, material things. I am also letting them go. It is not easy since there are some things that would make life a bit easier. However, longing and wishing are not going to make it any easier to be without them. I will do what I can to squirrel away a bit here and there and, again, if those things are meant to be mine, they will be.

It is about learning contentment. With people. With situations. With things. Contentment. Serenity can be another word. Can I be serene in the midst of things? Can I go with the flow?

My son said something today. He wants to take a single box and put his most prized possessions in it. Then he wants to get rid of the rest. I think that is a wise decision and one I would like to do. Of course, that would not include my favorite, most needed books. But I can set aside one shelf for just those. The idea is to pare down. It is something I have been slowly working on and need to continue. I wish the office could just hold my personal things, but it for now it needs to hold “family” stuff, too. Ah, well.

Our son was gone in a youth trip. During that time, Dave and I prayed together every day. It was good times of prayer…deep times. During this time of Ramadan, we are praying for the various Muslim populations, that they would come to know Yeshua in a very real way and be set free from the bondage of a false religion, especially in those countries where there is also physical bondage.

I know I am growing more deeply into prayer and more deeply into relationships. I am asking Abba to show me how I can better serve my family and stay out of the overwhelmed state.

I need to remember, and walk in, the following:

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in growing, Personal, this world and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Ongoing Journey

  1. What a beautiful post Abigail – thinking of you and your family in this season xxx

We would love to hear your thoughts...

