100 Days of Thankfulness — Day 10 – Hard Things

I know this may sound strange, but today I am thankful for hard things. We are told to give thanks in everything and for everything. I figure “everything” means…well, every thing! In whatever I am going through, I am to give thanks. Fair enough. I can be thankful that He is getting me through it. I can be thankful that, at some point, there will be an end. I can be thankful that I am not alone or abandoned.

But, wait a minute! It also says to give thanks “for” everything. Whoa! That is a horse of a different color! I am not just to be thankful “in” all things, but “for” all things! So, today that is what I am thinking about.

You see, it is those hard things that really make me grow. They test my faith and show me what I am really made of…if I am putting feet to my faith or just spouting words that sound good. How will I handle this stuff that seems to just keep coming my way? Will I be grateful for the opportunities to grow? For the opportunities to let my light shine?

I say “yes”! I choose to be grateful. It is not always easy and it has taken a long time to get to this place. But one thing I learned is that there is NOTHING…NO THING…that can happen that my heavenly Abba does not either know about or cause. There is no third option…no “oops” with G-d.

I also know that He is looking out for good…not just for the world at large, but for me personally, too. Therefore, everything that He causes or allows, He does so because somehow something good is going to come of it. I might not see it now, but someday I will. I may not be able to see it until the next life, but I have been privileged to see some things in this life. And, sometimes, He has even shown me while in the midst of it!

Yes, I am thankful…in hard things and for hard things.

How about you?

Below is the little RV the three of us lived in for 5 1/2 years. That was a hardship, especially toward the end when our 9 year old son turned almost 15.

IM002871_edited-1

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Beit-Shalom, Life, Musings, Personal, photography, photos, Reflections, Spirituality, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

We would love to hear your thoughts...

