100 Days of Thanksgiving — Day 7

Well, I wrote initially that I might not get to it every single day. Skipping Shabbat will most likely be the norm, but yesterday wasn’t Shabbat. I will, however, do all 100 days, regardless of when I get them written!

Today, I am thinking of my family, both immediate and extended. Yes, there are squabbles at times and not everyone agrees with everyone else. In fact, sad to say, there are some members in the extended family who do not interact at all with certain other members.

But underneath it all, and over all, there is a love between us. There is a bond, however fragile and even broken, that does tie us together. Like it or not, some of us share some common history and some of us share common blood. Some of us grew up together. Some of us married in. Some of us were adopted…whether officially or not. There is something that brought us all together to connect with one another at some time in our lives.

I would not be who I am today if not for family. Yes, that is both a positive and a negative. But as my grand-daughter pointed out to me on the phone last night…we become stronger because of what we have been through. Such wisdom from such a young lady. In fact, I actually heard a lot of wisdom from her. And, for that, I am truly thankful.

Her world has been rocked recently in a huge way and I know the road ahead of her and her family will be a hard one. But I believe in her. And I believe in the love of family to help them all get through this. What a greater tragedy it would be if she (or they) were to have to go through all of this alone, with no family support at all.

So, yes, in spite of the fact that family relationships at times can be really difficult to deal with, there are also so many blessings in them. While family interactions can, at times, be very dark, they can also be a time of joy and of G-d working through us to bless one another. They are an amazing opportunity to practice true unconditional love and to set healthy boundaries in the process.

Abba, thank You for family and for all the ways You have encouraged me and stretched me through them. They are such a blessing. Please bless each one of them and show Yourself to them in a very real way. Tear down any walls that are up and bring healing and provision where needed. b’shem Yeshua

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Beit-Shalom, Life, Musings, Personal, Reflections, Spirituality, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

We would love to hear your thoughts...

