100 Days of Thankfulness — Day 4

Shabbat! I am SO thankful for Shabbat. It is a time we set aside to just be with Abba and with family in a special way. I typically stay off of Facebook and I try to curtail my computer time and/or refocus it on reading and studying more about Hebrew and/or the scriptures.

On Erev Shabbat (Friday evening after sundown), we have a little “ceremony” or “ritual” that I came up with that we do together to celebrate the opening of Shabbat. I start out with lighting our Shabbat candles. Then we move through various things, including the blessing of the children, the Shema, the blessing of the Bread and of the grape juice, the Aaronic blessing and so on. Each thing we do has special meaning for us.

I always have Shabbat bread (also called Challah by many). It is a special braided bread I make just for Shabbat and for feasts. I have been working on my own special braid. I also try to have meals prepared ahead of time so that I have to do no (or very little) cooking on Erev Shabbat or Shabbat. That includes having a dessert.

During the Shabbat day, we have two Messianic synagogues we attend live online. It is a very special time of teaching, learning and connecting with others.

The two long loaves are typical of Shabbat, although now I make them half-size and use the other half of the dough to make Challah rolls. The one in the middle is a crown challah which is used for special feast celebrations, although it could be used any time really.

Shabbat Shalom, Aleichem! (Shabbat peace, everyone!)

100_7578

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Beit-Shalom, Feasts, God, Life, Musings, Personal, photography, photos, Reflections, Shabbat Shalom, Spirituality, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

We would love to hear your thoughts...

