100 Days of Thankfulness — Day 1

I feel impressed to write each day for the next 100 days about something for which I am thankful. I don’t know if I will be able to keep up with it, but that is my goal. Each day may, or may not, be accompanied by a photo which may, or may not, actually be related to the subject of the post!

Today, I am writing about Zucchini Bread. I know that may sound like something rather frivolous to write about, but I hope you will see why by the end of this post why it is not.

Yesterday, I made Zucchini Bread for the first time in many years. I had thrown away the recipe because it called for a lot of oil and I am trying to make healthier things for my family. So, I started with a search for recipes on-line.

I found several and picked the best one to use as a starting place for me to make my own recipe. Taking from other recipes and tweaking the base, I made two loaves. They turned out pretty good, but needed more tweaking. Today, I made two more loaves that I think are even better.

I enjoy baking and am thankful for the three humongous zucchinis with which I was blessed which is what got me on the journey back to making zucchini bread.

I am thankful for the internet access to many recipes to give me ideas as starting places for making my own recipe.

I am thankful to be out of the RV and in our house (even in its unfinished state) which makes it a whole lot easier to bake. The house reminds me of the love of so many people who pulled together to get it built.

I am thankful to have a full size oven to work with (even if I do have to turn things around halfway through due to uneven heating). The oven reminds me of both the woman who found it for us (who has recently battled cancer) and the woman who donated it through her.

I am thankful for the reminder of the people who have blessed us for it gives me an opportunity to pray for them.

I am thankful to have the other ingredients to use.

I am thankful that my family appreciates my efforts (even when things don’t always turn out as tasty as they would like).

I am thankful for things like an unfinished house and unevenly heating oven because they remind me that, just as I can use them as they are, G-d can use me as I am. I don’t need perfection and neither does He!

I am thankful for my old Kitchen Aid mixer for it reminds me of how faithful G-d has been all these years.

I am thankful for my measuring cups and spoons for they remind me of a dear sister I “met” only a couple of years ago online.

I am thankful that I have the ability to bake and to move around freely. Some don’t.

So, you see, one of the main reasons I am thankful for Zucchini Bread is because it reminds me of so many other things for which to be thankful! And, of course, let’s not forget that it is also yummy!

Here is a photo of today’s two loaves. As for yesterday’s…well…one is gone and the other is around here “somewhere”.

Zucchini Bread 100_1407

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Beit-Shalom, Blessing, Lessons, Life, Musings, Personal, photography, photos, Reflections, Spirituality, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 100 Days of Thankfulness — Day 1

We would love to hear your thoughts...

