Do-it-yourself Kitchen Decor

I was tired of looking at unpainted kitchen walls between my cabinets and the counters. So, I decided to get creative! If you look in this picture of donuts, you can see the newspaper hanging on the wall behind them.

100_7713

Hmm…I just realized that I never did write a post about the different donuts I made for Chanukah! (Well, that will have to come later!) The newspaper is there because I was tired of losing things in the gap between the back of the counter and the wall. When your house is not square, you get things like that.

Now, there is something else there and it looks (I think) much prettier. It actually isn’t quite done. I want to add bows at the outlets, but here it is so far. It is just temporary and is stapled in some places and glued in others. The lights add ambiance. I have always loved having colored lights strung in my house.

These photos go from right to left across my kitchen. I was thrifty. I used the denim material from a dress that a mouse had eaten a hole in and a skirt that also had a hole. Both holes were in places you could not really patch. The plaid came from two pairs of flannel pajama bottoms. The bows will come from the string ties on the pj’s.

It was fun. It was challenging. I like it…for now.

kitchen 100_7779  kitchen 100_7781  kitchen 100_7780kitchen 100_7783kitchen 100_7782

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Beit-Shalom, Life, Personal, photography, photos and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Do-it-yourself Kitchen Decor

  1. Slamdunk says:

    Colored lights always make me smile as well. And with the newspaper, I think you were just multi-tasking: reading and working in the kitchen at the same time.

  2. Hi Abigail, wow you are very creative I don’t think that I would have thought to do that at all!!!!!!!! It looks good 🙂

    PS: I think you’ve really gotten into the Hebrew Mama thing xxx

We would love to hear your thoughts...

