Thoughts on Life and Shabbat

As I sit here this morning preparing for Shabbat tonight, my thoughts naturally turn once again to my L-rd. I realize that I don’t spend as much time with Him as I would like or as I should. That makes Shabbat even more special. It is an appointed time to be spent with Him. It is a time when I try to get rid of as many distractions as possible.

Distractions are a real challenge for me, especially since my guys do not see Shabbat in quite the same way I do. They do try to respect my desires, though, and are even coming to see the benefits of it. It is not for to convince them. The L-rd is totally capable of doing that, even as He did me.

As I read the scriptures, I see that Shabbat is for everyone. It is not that I am not “saved” if I don’t remember Shabbat. It is that it was a gift from the very beginning. I notice that the L-rd mentions Shabbat to the people of Israel before the Torah is given on Mt. Sinai. Clearly, they must have already carried with them some understanding of it being a set apart day, just as Noach also understand what animals were clean and unclean (better translated as “fit” and “unfit”) when he went on to  the ark. There are obviously some things the people knew before they were written in the holy scriptures.

I try to have everything done ahead of time so that I can truly just “rest” on Shabbat. If possible, what is not done is simply left until after Shabbat. I prepare the evening meal and have something for lunch, also. Breakfast is usually either bread pudding or a special breakfast bread. I try to make the Erev Shabbat meal special, something not served the rest of the week. Erev Shabbat is also when I typically have a dessert and we use special flatware. Someday, I hope to have more flatware and also special dishes for Shabbat. I have a few special bowls, but not a whole set. I want Shabbat to be a joy, a celebration and something special for us and for whomever might be here with us.

Today is even more special in that both of my guys are gone. Elias will be gone until later in the evening and Dave will be gone until late afternoon. He may not get home until close to the start of Shabbat. Mid-afternoon, a friend is coming over, which will give us some “girl” time before Dave gets home. What a special treat today is going to be!

So, I sit here listening to Messianic music and turn my heart, again and still, toward my Mashiach. I think of what I need to get done still so that I can just relax before my friend comes over.

I try to invite the L-rd into everything I do. I had started to pray a blessing before eating and drinking (not just meals) and before doing some things, but I have drifted away from that. I like that the Jewish people have so many blessings throughout the day. What a great way to give thanks to Abba and to invite Him into every part of our lives!

Well, I had better get to it. I have some laundry to fold and put away and a little bit of tidying up to do. Then it is on to planning dinner. Yep, I am a bit late on that. I have a “sort of” plan, but that is one of my challenges…to prepare for dinners better. I am a bit challenged when I am trying to juggle different things, but I will write more about that some other time.

This week I did a lot of baking and restocking of my freezer. I have more to do, but not today. It is a challenge for me to juggle baking, home schooling, cleaning and planning and cooking meals. Dave’s schedule really makes it harder with meals, too. It is something I am working on.

I pray that all who read this will be blessed today and tomorrow on the Shabbat. If you have never done so, I highly recommend reading all the scriptures that talk about Shabbat. When I did, I found that some of my thinking about Shabbat was in error. It was not quite what I thought. Don’t just read the ones in the Ten Commandments sections of the scriptures, read all the rest. You might be surprised at what they say. I do not celebrate a “rabbinical” Shabbat, although I do pull from some of their traditions. I focus on a biblical Shabbat and my understanding of that is growing.

Be blessed!

I leave you with a photo of some Indiana sourdough bread that I had to “salvage”.

It actually turned out pretty good! I just kept grabbing the dough and pulling it up until it settled back down fairly smoothly. I let it do another very brief rise and popped it into the oven. Voila!

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Beit-Shalom, God, Home Education, Life, Musings, Personal, photography, photos, Reflections, Spirituality, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

We would love to hear your thoughts...

