Breaking from Facebook

I am taking a much-needed break from Facebook. Truly, I always have mixed feelings about Facebook. While it is a way to connect with family, friends and others with like interests, it also has its draw backs.

For one, they are always changing how things look and feel and are done. Basically, Facebook is frustrating to use. I feel as though the ones in control of FB are a bit arrogant. They leave us with few, if any, choices on anything. Features I liked have been ripped away without even asking me what I think about it. Other things are added that THEY think are “cool”, but I (and many others I know) don’t! Some things are much more difficult to do. Looking in the past on my Timeline is just plain nuts. It keeps jumping back to the top every time I try to load more posts at the bottom. It just gets old having to deal with the Facebook interface itself.

I also find that it can be very time-consuming, taking away from my doing things for my family and home and for my enjoyment and fulfillment. I spend less time on my studies, my music and, obviously, writing here. So, I am taking a break from FB.

Here is our buddy Diego. He is one of our joys in life. I would like more time to just be with him, too!

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Beit-Shalom, Life, Musings, Personal, Pets, photography, photos, Reflections, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Breaking from Facebook

  1. Jackie Holden says:

    He looks so cute Abigail. Have a lovely break from FB and I always look forward to your posts here. Rest well this night and sweet dreams to you all. Hugs and kisses.

  2. Susan says:

    I just might decide to take the drastic step to step away too. It looks like I’ve just lost a friend via Facebook, and that seems just stupid. And I agree… TIME! Love you, Abi. Is your house winter ready now???

    • Abigail says:

      Aw…sweet chaverah. I am so sad to hear that you lost a friend via FB. I have, too, but it was a “friend” I gained on FB, so not really someone I was close to. Still, it made me sad that I would be blocked without warning or any chance to find out what was up. The Internet is really tricky when it comes to communications. We cannot project a tone of voice and it is SO easy to misunderstand and to be misunderstood.

      I really need to figure out a way to be on there without spending a lot of time. I have managed to do that, but then I get sucked in again. Actually, a lot of it has to do with the election. I know things will settle down after that. I have considered spending set amounts of time…or only going on certain days. But I really need to focus on Elias’ education.

      The house is as winter ready as it is going to be. We were turned down for the weatherization because the house is unfinished. But we have a really good woodstove. In fact, we will be firing it up again tonight after several days of warm weather. We might even get snow in a few days. I don’t know. It seems a bit early for that, but the East Coast storm is bringing cold and sending some of it our way even though we are out of range for the storm itself.

  3. I agree. It definitely becomes a big time vacuum. I just watched a brief presentation by a guy who calls himself a professional quitter. But what he’s talking about is quitting the things in life that don’t bring you joy, fulfill your life, or take away from your life. He does it little by little – quitting one thing every week. I think this is a terrific attitude.

    • Abigail says:

      I totally agree, Dianne! I have done this many times in my life. It is funny, though, (or actually not so funny) how easy it is for other things to creep back into my life. It is true that my priorities do change for the different seasons of my life, but I really need to stay on top of the most important things…starting with G-d and family!

  4. Gary and Dawn says:

    sis, I totally relate to your frustrations with fb. do take a break, but don’t deactivate. allow Abba the option of using you or ministering to you through fb when He draws you there. I love you (kisses )

    GARY AND DAWN PHENIX

    • Abigail says:

      Oh, I won’t deactivate. I will be back. However, I am praying as to what HE wants my FB presence to be and how much time HE wants me to be on there.

      Love you much!

We would love to hear your thoughts...

