A Day for Dreaming…and Preparation!

My guys are gone today. Dave is working late and Elias is spending the night elsewhere. That gives me a rare and precious gift of some hours completely alone!

Today, I am preparing for Shabbat. The Challah is already made and I am starting on bread pudding and probably a sweet bread, too. Home made bean soup just needs some more potatoes and spicing. I am looking forward to a time of rest and shutting out the rest of the world as I focus on G-d and family.

I will also be playing my guitar today and practicing for a song I will be singing on Sunday. It will be the first time in a long time that I will be up on the platform with my guitar. There may be someone else playing for me on the piano. I don’t know yet. That depends partly upon how well we can mesh on Sunday morning seeing as I have no way before then to practice with her. I have already changed the key to make it easier for me to play, although that means using a capo which is not one of my favorite things to do. I actually like being able to concentrate on my singing without the distraction of having to play the guitar, too.

Here are photos of the new guitar one of my sons bought me:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I am also dreaming of the world to come when Messiah Yeshua returns. We are in Sukkot and that feast represents His coming again to “tabernacle” with humans. What a thought! When He comes this time it will be to judge the world. He will reign and, eventually, all evil will be locked up forever. We are not able to do an outside Sukkah, so I have a cloth draped over the living room to remind us of Sukkot. I wish I knew where our white lights are. Then I would hang them to remind us of being able to see stars through the roof of the Sukkah.

The Sukkah reminds us of our total dependence upon our Creator. If it were not for Him, we not would not exist. If not for His blessings, we would not have what we have. Too often, we forget that we truly are dependent upon Him. We try to do things our way and be our own bosses, forgetting to Whom we really belong. It is also a reminder that this is not our forever home. This world will pass away and be replaced with a new one. It will be remade, as it were. THAT is my true home! THAT is what I look forward toward.

Things are falling apart in this world…from my favorite bible to the economy to the moral condition of the world. On the one hand, it is concerning and worth trying to do something about. On the other hand, I know things are going according to Abba’s time-table. I have nothing to fear. He will get us through whatever is going to happen.

I see so many things hanging in the balance. Businesses are afraid to move forward because they don’t know what the election will bring about. Will it be an administration that is favorable to the economy and business? Or one that is against both? And what if the election is positive, but the incumbent chooses to declare a state of emergency and suspend Congress and the administration change? The fact is, many businesses are holding their proverbial breath until after January 1, 2013. We hear it whispered everywhere.

So I am focusing upon what is in front of me to do. I am fighting for my nation and for G-d’s kingdom. The more important one, of course, is the latter…something I sometimes need to remember. Whatever happens in this nation is only temporary. It WILL pass away, sooner or later. But the kingdom of G-d — of Messiah — is forever. THAT is where my most important citizenship lies.

What about you? What is most important to you? Is it the next i-Phone? The next video game level? The newest movie? Upcoming vacation plans? Your wedding? Whatever it is, just remember that all those things will pass away. Death will come to your door some day. Are you ready? I hope so.

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Beit-Shalom, Feasts, God, Life, Musings, Personal, photography, photos, Reflections, Spirituality, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Day for Dreaming…and Preparation!

  1. Jackie Holden says:

    Thank you for sharing this very meaningful and thought provoking piece. The L-rd bless all of you.

We would love to hear your thoughts...

