Getting Personal

 

I have not been writing about Beit-Shalom or about our lives. That is something I really want to change. I hope to spend just a little bit of time writing here each day, sharing some bits and pieces of our lives…our hopes, our dreams, our day-to-day challenges.

Finding balance in how I spend my time is a real challenge. There are things that, as a former counselor would say, “fill my bucket”.  These are things I really enjoy doing that I don’t do nearly often enough for me. And there are other things I feel sort of “obligated” to do that I would really like to let go.

Life is a journey and I am trying to discover how to better walk on mine.  Perhaps, as I share more of my day-to-day living, it will help me to sort through the things I am doing, discarding what is unnecessary and hanging on to that which is necessary and good.

We home educate our son, so I have been working on lesson plans and gathering curriculum. Our heavenly Abba has been good about bringing curriculum our way. We have been able to garner almost all the curriculum we need for high school with very little expenditure, which is very good seeing as how we have nothing to spend! Baruch HaShem!

That last statement reminds me that we want to learn Hebrew as a family. We are making Hebrew the foreign language of choice for our son so it will count as credit as well as personal interest. I have already started on the Alephbet and we got to attend a live webinar yesterday done by Rabbi Tuly Weisz of Israel 365 on how to read Hebrew. Of course, understanding it is the next level, but it will be nice to be able to start reading it. I already have my keyboard set up to type in Hebrew, but I need the stickers to put on my keyboard.

Rabbi Tuly sends out a wonderful email every day with a photo from Israel and a scripture verse in English and Hebrew, along with a transliteration. What good practice reading! He also includes something about the photo and about the verse. The emails are free and typically come with links to Hebrew music and all sorts of other things about the scriptures and the land of Israel.

Well, I am going to need to sign off for now, but this is my little start!

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Beit-Shalom, Life, Musings, Personal, Reflections, Spirituality, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting Personal

  1. Jackie Holden says:

    I enjoyed reading this Abigail, especially the part about home schooling.

We would love to hear your thoughts...

