Preparation Day

Today, I have been preparing for my at home “retreat”. I have done some things that will help me to be less distracted. Although I did not finish, I did get a good start on my son’s room. I also removed some of the clutter in a couple of key areas and stacked some things in others. I will continue to work on those areas during the times Dave is home from work. While he is gone…it is my Creator and me time.

I have my “areas” pretty much set up with what I need so that I will be comfortable, just like I used to at Mt. Hermon. I have also chosen some material I feel led to use as my stepping off point. I am not one to religiously stick to something. I will use it and keep using it, but if the Ruach says to move to something else, I will.

I am excited and anticipating this special appointed time with my Abba. Perhaps, doing this right after Fathers’ Day is apropos seeing as how my relationship with my earthly father is very broken and my heavenly Abba is my best and true Daddy. I love my earthly father and am still reaching out to him on some level. But Abba…He is everything I truly need in a father.

Dave goes to work very early tomorrow, so what time my retreat starts really depends upon what time I get up. One thing about retreats…sometimes it is the rest that is needed the most. I feel as I am going, going, going on one thing or another from the time I get up until the time I go to bed. I rarely, if ever, just sit. This evening, I laid on the rug in the living room, just being still. It felt wonderful. Just being still is something I definitely need to put into my life. I find that it is often in the stillness that I can most easily hear the Ruach speaking to my heart. That is why I desperately need this retreat.

Part of what I am doing during the times Dave is home is to work on organizing and creating a special place in the office so that I can retreat in there in little bits and moments of time on an ongoing basis. I am working on the office and on a couple of other key spots in the house. I want to have an option available regardless of the level of activity in Beit-Shalom.

Beit-Shalom…House of Peace. More specifically…Yeshua’s peace. Someday, I will write more on what shalom actually means. It is much more than we tend to think of when we hear the English word “peace”.

I actually have two appointments tomorrow. One with the Creator and one with a former counselor. We are going to talk on the phone later in the afternoon. It has been a long time since I have spoken with this wonderful Christian woman. She is wise and has helped me in so many ways. I know it will be refreshing time, and after spending the morning with Abba, I will be clearer about what I want to share with her. What perfect timing!

This is a view from outside the RV looking up to where Beit-Shalom would one day be. If you look closely, you will see a young man waving his arms and making a funny face. He is standing to the left of a yellow wheelbarrow. Behind him, even harder to see, are Dave and a neighbor. The guys have been clearing out some trees so we can get power run up there. They are scoping out what is needed to start the house.

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Beit-Shalom, God, Life, Personal, photography, photos, Reflections, Spirituality, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Preparation Day

  1. I loved reading this and I love the photograph. I remember your days in the RV…how far you have come since then – into your beautiful new home.

    Today is my girl’s 31st birthday and when she arrives back from work we will have a birthday meal for her. We being her brother and I.

    I have been listening to Max Mclean on-line reading the bible from Song of Songs, starting at chapter one. I lay still on my bed as he began reading from the first chapter, and in no time at all my heart felt so entwined with Yeshua’s heart. Tears flowed down my eyes, realising I was loved this much. I am so beautiful in His eyes and I am His dearly beloved. It’s this kind of love we want to share with others.

    I pray for your earthly daddy, and I pray all the dross will be removed from him, and I pray as David said: ‘I will be whiter than snow.’ I pray the Lord will give you a vision of your earthly daddy, and let you see him how He sees him. Amen.

    • Abigail says:

      Thank you, dear sister. I pray that your daughter’s birthday is a very special one. I am sure it is with you and her brother there for her.

  2. Abigail, one more thing: I love those trees in the photograph, and yesterday I was thinking of the verse that says the trees will clap their hands! 🙂

We would love to hear your thoughts...

