Treat Anxiety with Computers Instead of Drugs

Here is an interesting idea…using computers instead of drugs to treat anxiety. I can see how it would be especially useful in Israel where children and their families are having to run to bomb shelters on a regular basis and they never know if they will make it through the day in some parts of the country.

Treat Anxiety with Computers Instead of Drugs

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Israel, Life, News, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Treat Anxiety with Computers Instead of Drugs

  1. I have to admit that I don’t think using computers for treatment is any better than using drugs because it creates a dependency which is abnormal, especially when taken into everyday liv9ing. I have struggled personally with TV and computer addiction and although many people may not see this as a problem I know it has been. For true healing God is the only source, He shows us the root of our issues and teaches us how to overcome them in the way most effective for us. A one pill or treatment suits all approach will never work because we are so complex, only God truly knows our needs.

    • Abigail says:

      I hear you about addictions. In fact, I almost passed up the article because of that concern. What I read, though, did not advocate merely using the computer and substituting it long term for drug use long term…unless I missed something. There is a special program that uses a visual means of desensitizing whatever is causing the anxiety. This does not have the side effects of the drugs and is not addicting.

      Now, if the person is merely using the computer for games and such as a coping mechanism (which is what I at first thought they were advocating), then I would be totally against it. This seems to be something totally different, though.

      I do have to say that, at one point in my life, I did use some simple computer games like solitaire to help calm me down during a period of extreme anxiety. It was during a time when my mind simply could not focus on anything…not even bible reading or praying. Focusing on the games helped to calm me down. The energy being spent on the anxiety found an outlet in the games. But I was always cautious, using them only when I really needed to and I never got addicted to them. I am the same way with meds. I have anti-anxiety meds that I rarely use and, when I do, I break them into quarters. I HATE taking meds and I HATE wasting time. Both of those things probably help a lot. 🙂

We would love to hear your thoughts...

