At Home “Retreat”

With my son being gone for several days this week and Dave at work for some of those days, I am planning on having a one-on-one with my Abba spiritual retreat here at Beit-Shalom. I used to go on a contemplative style of retreat for a weekend every year, but have been unable to do so after moving here. I really miss it. So, I am going to do it myself this week.

In order to do it, I need to have some things in order, so I will be cleaning up my browser and posting some things that I have been wanting to post. I really need to get some of these tabs closed!

During this time of retreat, I will not be going to Facebook, although I will be checking our email, especially the email that is connected to our Magic Jack. That is our “voice mail”! I will also be writing as writing has always been a part of my retreats, although what I write about will not always be put up here. Much of that writing will be between Abba and me, precious things that I hold close to my heart. It was several years ago on one of those retreats that Abba gave me my new name. I wonder what is in store for me this time!

I have a lot of good things in my life to do…too many good things, in fact. I simply cannot do all of them well and it is time (actually way past time) to ask my Abba to show what I should drop and what I should keep. I have known that I need to do this for some time, but this is the first opportunity I have where both of my guys will be gone for a bit. It won’t be back to back full-time alone, but it will be some full work days and I will take anything I can get!

I already started a list of the things on my radar. It is possible that I will drop some of them completely, but that is really not an option for several of them. More likely, I will receive some guidance as to when to do them and how much time to spend on them. In other words, it will probably be some scheduling that needs to be done.

Most importantly, this will be time alone with my heavenly Abba. It has been way TOO long since I have been able to do this. I pray that I will not have to wait so long next time. I pray that I can find an economical place to go to where I can do this without any home distractions. In the meantime, one of the things I will be focusing on is organizing a space here in Beit-Shalom (aka the “office). I have been working on trying to create a space in that room for being able to shut the door and just be alone with G-d.

I am going to try to get into the habit of writing at least a little something here each day that puts together some thoughts about what I see here at Beit-Shalom and/or what I see Abba doing in my life and in our lives. I have been wanting to do that for some time, but other things (good things) keep getting in the way. I am seeking to find balance in my life…Abba’s balance.

I hope that, as I seek the heart of the Creator, perhaps I will uncover some things that will bless others. I know that writing oftentimes seems to open my heart and mind to Him and what an awesome thing that can be at times…and also what a humbling thing it can be. Not everything He shows me is nice stuff for He also shows me the ugliness that can reside in my own heart. I am always asking Him to help me to love Him and to be what He has created me to be. I do that all the time and I can tell you right now that, if you really want Him to do that and ask Him to…He will! He has for me and I know He will continue to do so for me.

Well, I am going to keep getting ready for this journey. Posts will be coming as I “clean up” and organize my blogs, too, in preparation for “retreating”!

Shalom and blessings to all who come by here, whether you comment or not. May His Light shine upon you and upon me!

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Beit-Shalom, Bible, Devotional, God, Lessons, Life, Musings, Personal, photography, photos, Reflections, Spirituality, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to At Home “Retreat”

  1. I loved reading this and the photograph is AMAZING! I am really looking forward to reading what you’re going to write 🙂

  2. Lord let all creation sing of Your glory today, and let Abigail here the praises of Your creation as they praise! Amen.

We would love to hear your thoughts...

