Just Some of What I Have Learned

I am still learning, slowly, but surely learning. This is just some of what I have learned in my life.

I learned about the dignity of those who have little, of those who are working hard just to get through life.

I have learned to respect those who go through long-term struggles and to recognize their strength.

I have learned that struggles are not necessarily due to laziness or lack of faith or judgment by G-d or many of the other things that we people tend to assume.

I have learned that it is OK to take my time to answer a person who attacks me with lies.

I have learned that, sometimes, the best answer to lies and attacks is…no answer at all.

I have learned, and relearned, and learned again, that YHWH is trustworthy, even when I am struggling with my trust.

I have learned over and over during my life that YHWH cannot be put into a box, that He simply cannot be comprehended by the mere human mind. And I like that, for how much of a G-d would He be if He was totally understandable?

I have learned that helping others can be done in uplifting ways and in destructive ways, in strengthening ways and in demeaning ways. You can do the same things, but so much is tied in to HOW you do it. Love and compassion are key!

I have learned that poor attitudes can be hard to deal with and that they are not only to be found in other people! They can easily creep up in me, too, if I don’t keep a guard over my heart.

I have learned that there is always a reason why people are the way they are. It is worth it to try to discover what those reasons are for it will help me to be more compassionate.

I have learned that the best way to be sensitive toward others is to treat them the way I want to be treated.

I have learned not to make assumptions (or at least to work very hard at it). Always ask lots of questions and get down to the real facts…not just the ones that others “think” they know or see.

I have learned that it is difficult to trust when trust has been broken. The deeper the break, the harder it is to trust again. I need to patient with those who struggle with trust for I can bet they have very good reason to not trust.

I have learned that people are worth more than being “right”.

I have learned that, sometimes, it is best to say “I’m sorry”, even if I feel I did nothing wrong.

I have learned that those who seem to be the strongest are most likely hiding their pain.

I have learned that there are some people I just have to let go of. They are either not good for me, I am not good for them, or it is simply time for one of us to move on the next leg of our journey.

I have learned that true friends are a gift for a time. I need to let them move on and then look for the next one.

I have learned that heartache often accompanies the path to finding true friendship.

I have learned to respect the thoughts and ideas of others, even if I do not agree with them.

I have learned that I can learn something from each and every person I meet, even if it is only that I need to respectfully set healthy boundaries.

These are just a few of the things I have learned over the years.

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Beit-Shalom, Lessons, Life, Musings, Personal, Reflections, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

We would love to hear your thoughts...

