My First Shabbat Service!

I attended my first Shabbat service today! Well…sort of. It was online and I was late. Still, I am so glad that I was able to catch at least part of it.

The teaching was on Yom Kippur and I am amazed at how many references to Yeshua there are in the ways the Jews celebrate this feast. It does not use His direct name, but there are clear references to Mashiach in the scriptures they use and the prayers they recite. The older and the newer scriptures all tie in together. The older explaining much of the newer. I am so hungry to learn more about how Yeshua is all through the scriptures…from Genesis to Revelation.

There is also a lot of prophetic information in the feasts about Messiah. It is very exciting. I thought His return would be on Rosh Hashanah because of the trumpets, but from what I heard this morning, it sounds like He will return on Yom Kippur when the Great Shofar is blown? Either way, His coming is getting closer and closer and I am excited about that. They also showed from the scriptures how He will be coming in a Jubilee year.

The more I study the Hebrew roots of my faith, the more I understand…the more things make sense. I had NO idea how many of the things we read in scripture are actually Hebrew idioms and phrases that the Hebrew people understand, but that we don’t fully appreciate because it loses something in the translation. Idioms are always hard to translate because they typically do not convey the same meaning in the other language.

Take for instance the phrase in English of “beating around the bush”. We may know what that means, but to someone from another country and language it sounds silly. Why would anyone want to beat around a bush? Well, Hebrew has those idioms, too. You see it in things like “having an evil eye” versus a “good eye” and “having light in your whole body”. Can you figure out what those mean? In English, you would never guess that they have to do with being greedy. Context and Hebrew culture tell us what they mean.

It is also a language that uses a lot of word pictures and extremes to make points. You see it in things like “heaping coals on one’s head”. If you do not understand the Hebraic culture, you will not know that it is a good thing to heap coals on someone’s head, especially if that someone is an enemy.

If someone’s fire went out, they needed a way to restart it. They would go to their neighbors and ask for coals from their fires to restart their own. You bless someone when you share your coals with them. The coals were put into a special pan that was carried on the head…thus…heaping coals upon one’s head. The more coals you gave, the more generous you were! I don’t know about you, but when I think in my Western way of heaping hot coals on someone’s head, I think of inflicting pain!

There is so much to learn and I am so grateful for the Hebrew Messianic teachers out there who can open up the scriptures to us!

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Beit-Shalom, Bible, God, Personal, Reflections, Spirituality, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First Shabbat Service!

  1. Anonymous says:

    I Just love this, hope you share all the idioms you learn as well as insights into God’s Word.

    • Abigail says:

      I will try. I am still very much a beginning learner, but am finding the Word opened up to me more and more as I study it within the context of the Hebrewness of the writers and within the culture they and the world around them lived. I see my spiritual journey as one of baby steps and learning bit by bit. 🙂

We would love to hear your thoughts...

