It’s Been HOT!!

Like a lot of the country, we have been hit with a heat wave. It has been as high as 95 degrees inside! We had two 5000 BTU window units, but they just could not keep up. I think a lot of it has to do with the humidity. Now, thankfully, we have an 8000 BTU window unit in the Living Room and two 5000 BTU units in the two bedrooms. Combine those with fans and a huge air mover and things are definitely improving.

The guys have been working on getting the heat pump installed, but still have a lot more work to do. It goes much slower when you are inexperienced at something. Slow and steady will get the job done, though, and Dave is praying that he will not make any mistakes!

The heat has been very uncomfortable. The humidity saps the energy out of us and makes it more difficult to get things done. It has also gotten me thinking. As miserable as my body feels with just this heat (on top of allergies!)…what about the people who have higher temperatures than ours? It must be even harder on them! This heat helps me to be grateful that I am not living where they are.

There is another thing the heat brings to mind that helps me to be grateful. I don’t know exactly what heaven and hell are like, but this I do know…hell is often described using the word fire…which means a LOT of heat to me. The heat wave we have here on earth will go away at some point. Hell’s heat will never leave. So, this heat reminds me to also be grateful that my eternal destination is NOT hell.

As for heaven…don’t know much about it, either. However, I do know that it is beautiful and I am confident that the temperature will be just right for our bodies! So, I am also grateful that I am going to go there.

When this heat wave does pass, I hope that I am more appreciative of those cooler days and nights than I may have been before it hit. I hope I remember this heat and send up a “Thank You” to the One who is blessing me with cooler temperatures and who is saving me from eternal heat and blessing me with eternal abundant life…Yeshua/Jesus.

Here is a little something else that generates heat. It survived being outside for a LONG time. The lid had already been broken years ago. So I am using the lid from something else. It is faded, but it survived (like us) and it still works!

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Beit-Shalom, Bible, God, Life, Musings, Not Religion, Personal, Reflections, Spirituality, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Been HOT!!

  1. Dawn Phenix says:

    That crock pot is beautiful, Abigail! Just like you.

  2. Joelle says:

    The heat makes me so thankful we live up on a mountain. We generally are 5-10 degrees cooler than the valley, which is a good thing when you have no A/C.

    My trailer finally got here, so now comes the fun of roof-sealing, cleaning, and moving. Not to mention getting the water and electric to it. Going to be a busy few days!

    • Abigail says:

      Oh, my! That WILL be a few busy days…but wow! How awesome it will be for you to move in! I am SO excited for you!

      We are in a tiny valley…I think what they would call a holler because you can hear people on the other side. You can’t understand them, but I would bet that if you “holler”, you could probably converse to some extent!

      Since our outdoor thermometer broke, we are not sure how we compare to other areas. We bought another one, but need to put it up. It does not do much good inside the house! LOL

We would love to hear your thoughts...

