Life Is…Interesting!

We still have a pile of sheet-rock on the living room floor…more than we need, actually. It seems that we have been thriftier than contractors typically are and that is after already returning some sheets! There isn’t much left to do…two walls in one bedroom and above one door in the kitchen. Some of the other places we are either waiting on or not going to do.

We have four our of six inner doors up now. (Thank you, Mark!) The house being out of square really effected the layout of the walls and, therefore, the way the doors are put in. In order to put our master bedroom door in, Dave had to nudge the wall over. Unfortunately, the other end of the wall pivoted around the center…pulling the wall away from the shower pan. We already were struggling with trying to find the source of some leaks…which we think we nailed…and then this. So, today, Dave took the drain apart (which is not straight lined up, either) and caulked it again along with the edges of the shower pan. No showers for tomorrow morning!

I also got the deadbolt in the front door. I had to chisel some of wood out, but I got it in! I have not chiseled yet for the door knob, so we are still using a bedroom doorknob on it. All things in their time!

Our kitty keeps throwing up every once in a while. We are not sure why, but we are deworming all of them just to make sure it isn’t that. A vet had told the woman at the Animal Shelter that worms could do that, although we have not seen any of the typical symptoms or signs of worms. She started while she was pregnant. We thought she was getting better. Then she started again. It did not help that she threw up a noodle from a bowl Elias left on the floor. Not too smart, son!

We are trying to separate her from the kittens so she will stop nursing them. She needs to put all her energy to regaining the weight she has lost. We cannot afford a vet, so we are just praying she is OK. We are also praying to little Blackie who has an eye that does not look good. It is hard to tell if it is getting better or not. If he has not improved by Tuesday, we will go to the Animal Shelter one day this coming week to see if we can get some antibiotic for him. They are pretty good about donating some…bless them!

I brought up the foil window covers from the RV. We are using them to block most of the sunlight coming through the living room windows on the sunny side. It appears they are working. The next three days are supposed to be in the 90’s. Yikes! We still do not have the attic insulated. They guys keep trying to get to the things that need to be done before that can be done, but other things keep cropping up. All will happen in due time. We are still so much better off in this unfinished house than we would be in the RV! Thank You, Abba!

Oh…did I share that the freezer is here? It is a small one…just right for us to start with. It is very old and so we will be needing to replace it eventually with a more energy-efficient one, but it is perfect for us for now! Woohoo!

I would put up photos, but I am borrowing Dave’s laptop. Mine is on its way back to the tech support depot. I am SO thankful for D (a tech whose direct number I have). He helped me before when no one else could, so I called him directly and he told me to send it to a particular tech he trusts (referring to him in the paperwork) since he will be in and out on business trips. He is pretty sure he knows what is going on and says it is a very simple, easy fix. He thinks it is my keyboard. This is after talking to four other techs, several reformats and a replaced hard drive…none of which I probably even needed! Bless D, Abba. This man is a real treasure! Next time, I will just call him second…or maybe even first.

I pray that you are all finding rest for your souls on this Shabbat.

Shabbat Shalom,
Abigail

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in Beit-Shalom, Life, Personal, Reflections, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Life Is…Interesting!

  1. Dawn Phenix says:

    It’s so good to hear how things are progressing with Beit-Shalom. An idea just popped in my head; I was remembering a friend who used to buy sheets on sale or from a thrift store to use as wall covering instead of paint (she rented). It was inexpensive and looked beautiful. It added texture, extra insulation and beauty. Thought I’d throw the idea out there.
    I’m excited to see more pictures.
    I have also seen on home remodeling shows where peel and stick tiles were used as a back splash in kitchens. It added interest and beauty (cheap too).

    better get going, Abigail. I love you sis.
    Dawn
    p.s. -Dave’s the MAN!!

    • Abigail says:

      That is a good idea, Dawn! I will mention it to Dave. We figured we would not get to painting for a while.

      • Joelle says:

        I’ve used sheets and fabric and even a vinyl I got super cheap as wall coverings, and all looked really nice. I have to warn you, though, it is very labor intensive to put up, and you can’t hang pictures like normal unless you don’t plan to move them at all.

        • Abigail says:

          How did you attach them to the walls? What do you mean by “vinyl”? Why can’t you move pictures? Don’t the nails just go through the sheets?

          • Joelle says:

            Well, I may have done it differently than some people because I didn’t want seams to show. I used a staple gun old mini-blind slats to hold it up so there would be an even edge without the staples showing. I had to be under the fabric as I did it. I’m sure that makes no sense if you can’t see a picture of it. If you did White you could probably just thumb-tack it with the same color, but I did different colors/patterns/textures. The vinyl was difficult. I ended up using thumbtacks I spray-painted to match the vinyl to hold it to the ceiling/wall. I also ended up covering some seams with ribbon that complements the fabric. It turned out kind of tent-like. I’ll have to see if I can get some pics of the rooms so you can see what I’m talking about.

          • Abigail says:

            I would love to see pics. Thank you for the ideas!

  2. Joelle says:

    Apple Cider vinegar is great for pets. You can give in a dropper or start adding to their drinking water. Start with 3 drops and up the amount 1 drop per day. We had a sick cat that pulled through doing it. And colloidal silver is great for eye issues. Hope they both get better!

    It is hot here, too, and no AC. Was up to 82 in the trailer, which is better than it could have been, but still pretty miserable.

    • Abigail says:

      Oh, gosh…you have no A/C? We have a couple of window units in, but they cannot really keep up. I am sure it will help once we get the insulation in the attic. Colloidal silver? Do you put it in their eyes? I don’t think I have any left from what a neighbor loaned to us, but I can check.

      The kitties seem to have a cold in their eye. They sometimes sneeze. I have been using a wet paper towel to wipe the stuff off so they can open their eye. The first one is looking much better, but the second one is not there, yet. We suspect it will go through all of them, eventually. It is interesting that it is only the right eye on each one.

      I do have Apple Cider Vinegar. I did not know you could give it to kitties. I just may try that, too! Thanks for the suggestions!

      I hope you can cool off. We are in the 90’s all week. We were supposed to have a day in the 80’s, but that seems to have disappeared.

  3. Joelle says:

    Yeah, just a drop or two in the eyes. We had a cat with an eye infection so bad we thought he’d be blind, but with the apple cider vinegar and colloidal silver eye drops he pulled through and kept his vision. (Prayer helped too, I’m sure.) 🙂

    • Abigail says:

      Thanks, Joelle. The eyes so seem to be getting better…slowly. I gave them Apple Cider Vinegar today. Boy was that a fight. They did NOT like it one bit. I think I will have to mix it in a tiny bit of food next time and see if that helps.

      • Joelle says:

        They probably won’t touch the food with it. That is why doing in the water is good, because you start off with such small amounts they don’t notice it, and by increasing it by 1 drop per day they don’t realize they are adjusting to it.

We would love to hear your thoughts...

