Shalom in the Land

I was up early the other day reading from my bible. The passage for this week included Leviticus 26. As I was reading, there was a verse that really struck me.

Lev 26:6  ” ‘I will give shalom in the land — you will lie down to sleep unafraid of anyone. I will rid the land of wild animals. The sword will not go through your land.

I began to think of our land, which we have named Eretz-Eloheinu (land of our G-d). We live rurally and I really want this for our land, so I prayed and asked my Abba for that.

This promise was made to G-d’s chosen ones in the land of Israel. As a grafted in member of the covenant through Yeshua (Jesus), I like to think that we can ask for (although we may not receive) their promises to become our promises.

Like many of G-d’s promises there are pre-conditions, as well as more details, which can be found in the whole chapter. We are not to make/have idols in our lives. That makes sense. Why should we expect G-d’s protection if we do not give Him the proper honor as the Creator?

A second pre-condition is to keep His Shabbats (sabbaths). Hebrews 4 seems to indicate that Yeshua is our shabbat rest. Plus, G-d has given His people Shabbats as a gift for their good. It is good for us to keep His Shabbats.

Another is to honor His sanctuary. Those of us have entrusted our spiritual well-being to the Son Yeshua are His children. As His children, we are His current sanctuary through the indwelling of the Ruach HaKodesh (Holy Spirit). We need to honor our siblings in Yeshua. I know it really saddens our Abba when He sees infighting taking place.

We are also to keep His teachings and commandments. We are to have the intent to carry them out. I like that He is not asking for perfection. He is asking for trying. I can do that.

There are more aspects to the promise…aspects that I see as showing Yahweh to be our Provider and our Protector. But the best promise of all is that He will dwell with His people and not reject them.  He will walk amongst them and be their G-d and they will be His people. What a picture of love and belonging to have the Creator walking amongst us!

Then it lists the consequences of not doing those pre-conditions. At first, I had a real hard time with that because it seemed like G-d is not really giving us a choice. As I thought about it, though, I recognized that there is no reason we should NOT obey our Creator. We are His. He made us. If I had the capability of creating people, I think I would be kind of angry, too, if they refused to recognize me as their Creator and kept ignoring the things I was telling them for their own good. It would break my heart to see my people hurting from things that I had warned them against. It would also make me sad that they do not trust me to know what is best for them. So, instead of being a picture of a petulant G-d, I see it being a picture of a loving G-d.

I pray that you have trusted the Creator. I pray that you are trusting in Yeshua.

About Abigail

We are a couple who loves the Creator...the G-d of the bible...Elohei Avraham, Yitzchak b'Ya'akov, who expresses Himself in many ways, including: Abba/Daddy/Father, Yeshua/Jesus/Son and Ruach HaKodesh/Holy Spirit.
This entry was posted in God, Life, Not Religion, Personal, Reflections, Spirituality, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

We would love to hear your thoughts...

